ECQ & GCQ Extended until May 31, 2020 in the Philippines

According to the IATF Resolution No. 35, the Enhanced Community Quarantine (ECQ) and General Community Quarantine (GCQ) will be extended in high-risk and moderate-risk areas in the Philippines. Low-risk areas on the other hand will no longer be under the community quarantine.

IATF Resolution No. 35

The IATF Resolution No. 35 was announced live, through the live broadcast on social media. The video enlisted the different provinces and regions in the country that will extend their quarantine and others who will no longer be under quarantine. Provinces, HUCs, and ICCs may appeal their classification to the IATF Screening and Validation Committee with the concurrence of the RIATF not later than May 13, 2020. Here is an updated list of regions and provinces in the Philippines that will extend their GCQ or ECQ:

High-Risk Areas (ECQ Extended until May 31, 2020)


Laguna, all HUCs of NCR, and the Municipality of Pateros


Cebu City

Moderate-Risk Areas (GCQ Extended until May 31, 2020)


Abra, Apayao, Benguet, Ifugao, Kalinga, Mountain Province, Baguio City

Region II
Batanes, Cagayan, Isabela, Nueva Vizcaya, Quirino, Santiago City

Region III
Aurora, Bataan, Bulacan, Nueva Ecija, Pampanga, Tarlac, Zambales, Angeles City, Olongapo City

Region IV-A
Cavite, Quezon, Rizal, Batangas, Lucena City


Region VII
Bohol, Cebu, Negros Oriental, Siquijor, Mandaue City, Lapu-Lapu City


Region IX
Zamboanga del Norte, Zamboanga del Sur, Zamboanga Sibugay, Zamboanga City, Isabela City

Region XI
Davao City, Davao de Oro, Davao del Norte, Davao del Sur, Davao Occidental, Davao Oriental

Region XIII
Agusan del Norte, Agusan del Sur, Dinagat Islands, Surigao del Norte, Surigao del Sur, Butuan City

Low-Risk Areas (no longer under the community quarantine)


Region I
Ilocos Norte, Ilocos Sur, La Union, Pangasinan, Dagupan City

Region IV-B
Marinduque, Occidental Mindoro, Oriental Mindoro, Romblon, Palawan, Puerto Princesa City

Region V
Albay, Camarines Norte, Camarines Sur, Catanduanes, Masbate, Sorsogon, Legazpi City, Naga City


Region VI
Aklan, Antique, Capiz, Guimaras, Iloilo, Negros Occidental, Iloilo City, Bacolod City

Region VIII
Biliran, Eastern Samar, Leyte, Northern Samar, Western Samar, Southern Leyte, Ormoc City, Tacloban City


Region X
Bukidnon, Camiguin, Lanao del Norte, Misamis Occidental, Misamis Oriental, Cagayan de Oro City

Region XII
North Cotabato, South Cotabato, Sarangani, Sultan Kudarat, General Santos City

Basilan, Lanao del Sur, Maguindanao, Sulu, Tawi-Tawi, Cotabato City

Watch the News Flash Video here:

Your Comment


I am Daisy. I currently live in, Dumaguete City, Negros Oriental. The art of journalism have caught my attention ever since I was a little girl. Writing is a passion only few are able to get and fewer people to achieve. With a touch of opportunity, I was able to commit myself in following my passion in writing. Follow me in my adventure in finding new reliable information!

One thought on “ECQ & GCQ Extended until May 31, 2020 in the Philippines

  • Avatar
    15. May 2020 at 13:23

    I am wondering who decides and based on which criteria a region falls under ECQ or GCQ or low risk area? I really do not understand why Negros Oriental is still under GCQ, more than a month no new case and still a GCQ restriction.
    The limited access to Dumaguete should be forever, or until the infra challenges are solved, but that is not related to Corona, is just the consequence of a growing city with real bad governance.
    In general, Corona or not, people should have a bit of discipline and lots of respect. That is harder to establish here than the fight against Corona.
    Please lift the restrictions, there is absolutely no reason for them in Negros Oriental.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *