Dumaguete Election Winners Proclaimed

DUMAGUETE CITY— the election winners of the polls that concluded yesterday have been proclaimed by the Commission on Elections (Comelec) in its different elective positions in Dumaguete City.

For the mayoral position, Lawyer Felipe Antonio “Ipe” Remollo (Ind) won with 29,518 votes over his opponent incumbent Vice Mayor Woodrow Maquiling Sr. (NPC) who got 27,132 votes. For vice mayor, incumbent Councilor Franklin Esmeña Jr. (NPC) topped the race with 28,499 votes while incumbent Councilor Antonio Remollo (LP) came in second with 24,824 votes.

City Councilor Election Winners

The 10 councilors who earned a seat in office includes Alan Gel Cordova (LP), 32,740 votes; Karissa Tolentino (LP), 32,409; Agustin Perdices (LP), 29,195; Eslao Alviola (Ind) 29,039; JV Imbo (NPC), 28,001; Joe Kenneth Arbas (LP), 27,522; Lani Ramon (LP), 27,004; Michael Bandal (LP), 24,586; Manny Arbon (LP), 24,500; and Chaco Sagarbarria (NPC), 22,797

The acting election officer of Dumaguete,  Atty. Andre Villasis proclaimed the winning candidates around 1 a.m. Tuesday. He also confirmed that the polls in the Negros Oriental area was peaceful and experienced only minor glitches that mainly involved the vote counting machines (VCM).

Your Comment

Wustin Dy

Wustin Dy

Wustin had a passion for writing since he was a child. Set back by being tied to a wheelchair and the situations in schools back then, he studied at home and read what he could get between his fingers. When finally after many years the world wide web was accessible for him, he managed to achieve several online degrees. Today Wustin writes for different magazines, his own blog and other publications.